Crofters Cottage Guest Reviews                                                                           back to Crofters cottage
not everyone remembers to write in the guest  book but here are the ones that did


16th June 2018    Sue & Rick

A fabulous fortnight again on this lovely island and great cottage. Weather has been glorious (even Storm Hector). Been relaxing sitting at the harbour and watching sea eagles at Loch Na Keal. Enjoyed feeding the birds at the cottage - they eat the nuts at an amazing rate! Had fun meeting our local friends agaoin. Many thanks for the wine and biscuits. See you next year.

2nd June 2018    Webster family, The Peak District

Great week in an excellent cottage. The weather has been unbelievable, up to the mid 20's every day with unbroken sunshine. We have done and seen a lot. Plenty of sea eagles; we went on the boat trip Lady Jane from near Ulva Ferry. Otters at Loch Scridain, Langamull and the headland beyond Calgary Beach. A pod of dolphins also appeared in Calgary Bay.
Also visited Uisken beach and Ardalanish beach near Bunessan on the way to Iona. Beautiful beaches, well worth the trip. This island is spectacular! Third trip here and won't be the last. Thanks for the wine and biscuits.

26th May 2018    Janet & Paul Davenport, Chorley, Lancashire

Our 6th visit to Mull and the 1st time to Crofters Cottage which is lovely! Everything you could possibly need is here including a very efficient and wonderful log burner which we certainly needed when we arrived for the first couple of days! Then we had beautiful weather - hot, sunny, blue skies, turquoise waters, never seen Mull looking so fantastic! Lots of great walking - particularly enjoyed our walk on Ulva this year from the Boat House to Ormaig; stunning views and an interesting settlement there and our walk on Iona exploring the southern end of the island. Fabulous beaches and a wonderful 'end' on the harbour of the Corade where St Columba first landed. Ate well (Café Fish) but also had an excellent meal next door at the Hebridean Lodge - a bit pricy but worth every penny.
Thank you so much for the 'goodies on our arrival.

19 May 2018    Mr & Mrs Palin, Wiltshire

What a fab week, the weather has been superb. We just love Tobermory, so pretty and has everything you need, including an excellent co-op. Places we have discovered and loved:
Glengorm Coffee Shop and forest and Loch Torr (15 mile cycle ride)
Aros Park, waterfalls and coastal walk and Tobermory lighthouse (6 miles walk)
Tobermory to Ardmore Bay and back (9 miles walk)
Bike ride from Dervaig to Calgary and back
Great cottage, beautifully decked out, thanks for the goodies.

12th May 2018    Stuart, Judy, Mick & Maureen, Alnwick

A very enjoyable stay in a lovely cottage. Only 1 1/2 days of rain so that was a bonus! Managed lots of lovely walks - Ulva, Glengorm, Calgary Bay. Excellent boat trip to Staffa and Lunga

5th May 2018    Chris & David Lovell, Southport

We have had a super week in this comfortable cottage, love the antler light fittings! We have been to Iona, Calgary Bay and Glengorm. Went for a walk to Aros Park and took an escorted wildlife trip. Saw otters, deer, hares and a white tailed eagle sitting in his nest. Thank you for the shortbread, it didn't last long!

28th April 2018    Sylvia & Rich

We've had a wonderful week here enjoying the fantastic wildlife and scenery. We had a very brief glimpse of an otter at Craignure, other highlights were a wimbrel and a white tailed eagle when out with Ruth from Mull Magic. There are lots of lovely places to eat, would recommend Café Fish, Hebridean Lodge and especially Am Birlinn at Penmore near Dervaig. Thank you for the wine and shortbread nad for being so helpful in supplying a new ironing board!

21 April 2018    Andy & Rita, Broadstairs, Kent

A very enjoyable stay in a very well equipped cottage. I would recommend the 30 minute walk from Tobermory pier to the lighthouse and the trip to Ulva. Thank you for the wine and the shortbread.

14th April 2018    The Handford family, Dronfield, Derbyshire

Our 3rd year at Baliscate and we have enjoyed it just as much! We have had some fantastic weather which has helped - we have visited Ulva and Iona and seen lots of new lambs, calves etc which the children have loves. Spring has definitely sprung! Thank you for a fantastic week in your lovely home.

7th April 2018    Kerry & Ian Quinn, Falkirk

As we drove into the courtyard we were greeted hello by a white tailed eagle soaring above us - what a welcome! Then we entered this awesome cottage - wow! It's so lovely, we have enjoyed cooking and chilling in this wonderful cottage, thank you.
We have also very much enjoyed our first trip to Mull. Tobermory is smashing and we enjoyed a libation or two in the public houses and pootling along the Main Street. Done some lovely walks. Glengorm castle, Langamull beach and Ardmore Bay. We got sunburnt at Ardmore as we camped up for a coule of hours and were rewarded by an otter spot!!!

23rd March 2018    Lynne & Ian, North Yorks

We have had a lovely few days exploring the beautiful islands of Mull and Iona. The cottage was a comfortable warm base to return to each evening and we would love to return.

24th Feb 2018    John & Alison Woodward, Cheshire

Second visit to this lo9vely cottage, been to Mull many times for the rally in October. Had a wonderful stay and a great meal in the Mishnish. Lovely scenery, lovely people and no rain!

11th February 2018    Younis family, Glasgow

Our first visit to Mull and we have had a fabulous time. Superb cottage, fabulous scenery and a wonderfully relaxing time. Had a lovely day on Calgary Beach yesterday in the sun and an exciting drive along the roads in the snow today. Loving the log burning stove!!

18th January 2018     Chris & Rachel

Here from Bristol and had an amazing time. The house is perfect and so is the surrounding area. Thanks for having us and hopefully see you again soon!

December 2017    Chris & Jac

Lovely house! Visiting from Edinburgh for the Cyclocross races at Glengorm Castle. This years weather challenge was snow and ice...winter is coming!! A treat to come back to Crofters Cottage and defrost.

Left on Nov 14, 2017 for a stay in Nov 2017

We both had a magical time at Iona and Calgary bay Weather was a bit wet but we were lucky enough to get sunny spells. Cottage was beautiful and had everything you could possibly need iron..fridge, freezer washer dryer like a home from home .. very modern and close by to shops and restaurants. We even saw an otter! Wildlife was amazing and stunning scenic views. We will definitely go back. Highly recommend

Rally Week 2017    The Quirks

A slightly different, quieter but for all that no less enjoyable week on Mull...looking forward to 2018 and what it may bring

16th September 2017   Nicola, Paul, Tina & Stuart

Visit number 20 to Mull, first time staying in Crofters and it won't be the last! The cottage is beautiful, very well equipped and in a fantastic location (it was nice not to have a half hour plus drive to the nearest shop)
Recommended excursions - any of the trips offered by Nature Scotland - Sea Eagle trip with Mull Charters -  day trip to Iona is a must, as is Ulva.
Excellent meals at MacGochgans and The Galleon Grill
Thank you for a great stay

29th July 2017   The Matthews, Ayrshire

Hidden gems, both Isle of Mull and Crofters Cottage. Thank you for a wonderful stay and lovely shortbread and wine (lovely touch). Can't wait to come back and do ALL the things we didn't have time for (who knew there was so much to do on a small Island!!)

14th July 2017    Frankie & John

First time on Mull, fantastic wildlife exceeding our expectations! Sealife Surveys boat excursion was superb, also eagle boat trip, excellent views of white tailed eagles.
Cottage great, we will return!

Left on Jul 14, 2017 for a stay in Jun 2017
Very easy to locate as on the main road into Tobermory. Beautifully clean and comfortable inside and very well equipped for our weeks stay. Surrounded by trees, so limited views as such and outside table is right next to main road, so little opportunity for outdoor relaxation/dining when the weather is good. Not such a stunning location as we'd hoped as small Industrial area opposite but just a 10 minute walk into Tobermory itself from the cottage. Plenty of parking space and friendly owner. Couple of extra bin bags for the week would've been appreciated

17th June 2017   Sue and Dick, Fotherby, Lincolnshire

Wonderful to be back on Mull after missing our holiday last year.We have turned rusty with all the rain!! - although I did get sunburnt on the banks of Loch Na Keal watching the sea eagles. It was great to meet our friends in Tobermory that we have made over the years - especially England v Scotland in the Mishnish! The rainy weather has not stopped us doing anything, in fact it can be quite dramatic!Thanks for the wine and the biscuits, see you next year.


3rd June 2017   Sean, Rachel and Darci Evans

Excellent accommodation, best we have stopped in. Discovered lots of lovely places on Mull, Port Na Ba was a real gem near Croig and we spent ages watching the seals playing in the sea off the beach. Also saw a white tailed eagle on a boat trip which was fantastic. Many other lovely places visited and too much cake eaten! Galleon Grill steak was well worth the money, can recommend the rib eye.


6th May 2017   Anne-Marie and Mike, Sheffield

Lovely, spacious and comfortable cottage. Great location and easy to walk into Tobermory. Weather has been (unexpectedly) clear and sunny this week so have been out and about around Mull. Lovely walks within a short distance, Calgary Beach is wonderful, Ulva also worth a visit. Best wildlife spotting this time seemed to be around Loch Na Keal.
Cottage temperature always seemed to be just right! Note for the tall; watch your head on the antlers above the dining table. Thanks also for the biscuits and wine and use of this lovely cottage.


19th August 2016  Burns family, Thornton Clevelys, Lancashire

Could not have asked for a nicer place to stay, the whole experience was amazing, weather was great and we saw lots of different wildlife, we will be coming again.


30th July 2016  Williams family, Salisbury, Wiltshire

Our first trip to Scotland, it's been awesome. The cottage is so spacious and comfortable and we have been full on exploring Mull. Staffa and Fingal's Cave were incredible and we saw quite a few puffins up close. We have had brilliant weather and had lots of walks. Loch Ba was beautiful. We sat on Calgary Beach in the blazing sun. Aros Park was lovely for an evening walk. Tobermory Distillery tour was very interesting. Also did some lovely forest walks. So much wildlife to see. Wish now we had booked for two weeks. Really do not want to leave.


23rd July 2016       Stewart & Isobel Nicol

We have had a very relaxing and enjoyable week staying in this spacious and very tastefully furnished house which is particularly well equipped. We had an amazing trip to the Treshnish Isles & Staffa on Staffa Tours - highly recommended. Visiting Iona was another highly memorable experience. Many thanks for this lovely house



9th July 2016        Margaret and David, Burnley, Lancs

Had a fantastic week. Only one day of full rain so we didn't do too bad. Lovely Island, very friendly. The cottage is one of the best we have stayed in - excellent. Will be back again as we still have a lot to see.



2nd July 2016       Karen & Jacqui, Devon

Despite the terrible weather we've had a great time (that's the luck of the draw when you holiday in the UK). Cottage is lovely, really spacious and well equipped and the log fire was greatly appreciated after one particularly soggy boat trip! Mull is beautiful and we hope to return one day. Many thanks.



28th May 2016      David & Joan Goddard

We enjoyed our stay in this comfortable and spacious cottage. We can recommend eating at the Hebridean Lodge next door. We liked shopping at the Co-Operative! The books and other items on sale at Tackle and Books, Main Street were a surprise. We had good weather all week so plenty of walks and a lovely boat trip courtesy of Staffa Tours. Don't forget to go to the Ironmongers (Browns)! Mull Eagle Watch was fantastic - also lovely walks at Treshnish and locally along the coast to Aros Park. And now... after Crofters Cottage...we have to downsize and go home!



16th April 2016      Tomlinson family, Blackburn, Lancs

So lucky with the weather. Amazing trip to Staffa and Iona. Our 5 year old loved it. Saw the puffins and seals. Calgary Beach stunning. Great walks, Alasdair loved Aros Park. Fantastic high spec cottage - loved it.



4th Jan 2016        Martin & Melanie

After a long journey from North Devon and one ferry cancellation, we arrived. Wow! What a stunning cottage. Clean, tidy, modern, well equipped and very warm. We have had an amazing honeymoon here on Mull. The people here in Tobermory are very welcoming. The Evangelical church service on a Sunday morning is great and the people are lovely. We are sad to be leaving today so maybe this calls for another visit sometime in the future.  



17th Oct 2015     Kennedy family

Swimming in the sea at Calgary Bay (it was cold but that doesn't put a 4 year old off!!). Climbing the rock pools at Glengorm Castle and Bay. Searching for the Balamory houses  which we found! Fair to say we've had a lovely fun-packed holiday - we will be back - see you soon.



June 2015         Sue and Dick Dodd, Fotherby, Lincolnshire

This is our 11th year on Mull and we have had another wonderful holiday. Met up with local friends and met some new ones. Crofters Cottage is beautiful, comfortable and relaxing. I am always sad to leave  the Island, but then look forward to returning again! We have seen an otter in Tobermory harbour, sea eagles and Golden eagles at Loch Na Keal and Calgary Bay. To top off a great holiday the weather has been kind to us, especially the second week. See you next year!!



5th June 2015     Peggy Harris, Ottawa, Canada

I knew when we planned this trip to Mull it would be great but now it has turned out to be exceptional. Thanks for such a lovely 'home' to come back to after days of walking, bird-watching and touring the outer islands. I'll be back!



29th May 2015    Chris Hatton

The cottage is lovely, very warm and welcoming and in an excellent location for seeing so much of Mull and the surrounding islands. Mull is definitely one of the most beautiful places I have ever been to and the people add to its beauty. Thank you for making our stay so comfortable. We will hopefully come back again soon.



7th May 2015    Hollman family, Dunfermline, Fife

We have had an amazing time here - even the weather has been kind to us! Thanks for providing such a comfortable and cosy 'home from home' from which to explore this wonderful area. We hope to come back soon!



2nd May 2015     John, Sheila and Jos, Edinburgh/Cornwall

A beautifully presented cottage in an incredible location. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. With every good wish for the coming season(s)


24th Jan 2015     Janet & Keith, Cumbria

A great week in which to climb Ben More (our last Munro!) in snow and hail with crampons. A fitting end to our 5 years of enjoying the Munro's all over Scotland. Also to celebrate a special birthday on the summit! Thank you for providing a comfortable, well equipped cottage with great wood burner.


July 14 Claire and SJ, Worcestershire

Beautiful island, fantastic landscape, well situated cottage. Photography workshop with Dr Sam Jones and Tony Maclean well worth the money.  Lunga island to visit the puffins is a fantastic experience. Plenty of good restaurants with local produce. Wildlife on this island is wonderful. Lucky to have good weather and some wonderful sunsets witnessed.   Cottage is cosy and well decorated would definitely recommend. Thank you.


5th - 12th July 2014     Lindsey Phil and Eilidh, Edinburgh

Thank you Hylda and John for another wonderful week on Mull that again passed  far too quickly. We loved the new house. Managed to fit in Glengorm and Ulva this year which we missed last year and a different boat trip. Its lovely re visiting old haunts as well as discovering new places.  Our only regret is that we didn't visit Iona this time and that we could get Eilidh out of the sea at Calgary. We will just have to come for longer next time, off to explore Skye now !!    Thanks again and hope to see you in the not to distant future.


14th - 21st June 2014     Vicky and Betty Adlard

We have enjoyed another lovely week on Mull. The weather has been perfect for us and we have spent more time outdoors. Many thanks to Hylda and John for maintaining the high standard of the cottages and we hope to return again.


31st May - 14 June 2014     Jenny and Alan Jackson, Hampshire

3rd visit to Mull staying in John and Hyldas new cottages.  Usually stay in Gamekeepers. I have to say you have excelled in everything, it is very comfortable, whilst we like Gamekeepers, Crofters is better !!
Weather has been kind had a couple of rainy starts but the sun soon came out.  Lots of walking, Ulva, Loch Ba, Calgary, Aros, Mishnish.
Trips out with Davis Woodhouse, Mull wildlife expeditions who excelled himself to give us lots of species sightings and knowledge, trips out with Sealife surveys, dolphins this year a firts, porpoise, minke whale, eagles etc, brilliant weather.
Trips with Martin Keivers Mull Charters to see the sea eagle fishing  was special, no camera required could not compete with the huge lens so did not bother - awesome.  Eaten lots of local food, cheese, fish pork. Looking forward  to another return.


3rd - 10th May 2014      John and Jennie Gavin, Winchester

Another lovely week staying on Mull our first in Tobermory. Walks around Ulva, Iona, Loch Frisa all brought sightings of wonderful birds, deer and seals. Favourite sightings this years were great northern and red throated divers and crossbills. A trip over for a special meal at Lochaline Whitehouse restaurant for lunch was to be recommended although a long drive to Ninth Wave at Fionnphort  lives up to the reputation, our second visit there.  Booking essential both there and down the road at Cafe Fish.  Crofters cottage has been a beautiful base, every comfort and the best equipped kitchen we have experienced.  Thank John and Hylda making us so welcome and  comfortable during our stay.






Virginia3960     Foster, Australia              Fabulous cottage


Crofters Cottage is the perfect place to stay on Isle of Mull. Well located - can walk into the centre of Tobermory 10 mins (although it is15 mins back up the hill but don't blame the cottage) - dear little cottage with 2 beds, 2 bathrooms and everything you could possibly need for a week's stay - kitchen is beautifully appointed in oak and has full stove, microwave, fridge, freezer, dishwasher, washer/dryer, slow cooker, grillers, TV (plus TV's in the bedroom too) - a gorgeous little spot with outdoor furniture by the front door for a glass of wine in the afternoon. Only one other cottage nearby but great privacy. The final tick really comfortable beds and a great welcome from John and Hilda including a bottle of wine and biscuits. Oh also - a GOOD supply of toilet paper, dishwasher tablets, soap etc - so nice.
Sunshine_720  Spacious and well renovated property

We stayed with 2 kids ( 11 & 9 years old) & loved it! We really appreciated the log burning fire, spacious layout, comfortable & firm beds & beautiful clean, cotton sheets. We found the cottage had everything we needed - as well as the wine & biscuits too! It was was a great location - quiet but easy to get to Tobermory. We hope & look forward to a return visit soon. Mull was fantastic & we really enjoyed coming back to the cottage after a busy day out. I rarely write reviews but this deserved a mention. Thank you.