Crofters Cottage Guest Reviews                                                                           back to Crofters cottage
not everyone remembers to write in the guest  book but here are the ones that did


17th June 2017   Sue and Dick, Fotherby, Lincolnshire

Wonderful to be back on Mull after missing our holiday last year.We have turned rusty with all the rain!! - although I did get sunburnt on the banks of Loch Na Keal watching the sea eagles. It was great to meet our friends in Tobermory that we have made over the years - especially England v Scotland in the Mishnish! The rainy weather has not stopped us doing anything, in fact it can be quite dramatic!Thanks for the wine and the biscuits, see you next year.


3rd June 2017   Sean, Rachel and Darci Evans

Excellent accommodation, best we have stopped in. Discovered lots of lovely places on Mull, Port Na Ba was a real gem near Croig and we spent ages watching the seals playing in the sea off the beach. Also saw a white tailed eagle on a boat trip which was fantastic. Many other lovely places visited and too much cake eaten! Galleon Grill steak was well worth the money, can recommend the rib eye.


6th May 2017   Anne-Marie and Mike, Sheffield

Lovely, spacious and comfortable cottage. Great location and easy to walk into Tobermory. Weather has been (unexpectedly) clear and sunny this week so have been out and about around Mull. Lovely walks within a short distance, Calgary Beach is wonderful, Ulva also worth a visit. Best wildlife spotting this time seemed to be around Loch Na Keal.
Cottage temperature always seemed to be just right! Note for the tall; watch your head on the antlers above the dining table. Thanks also for the biscuits and wine and use of this lovely cottage.


19th August 2016  Burns family, Thornton Clevelys, Lancashire

Could not have asked for a nicer place to stay, the whole experience was amazing, weather was great and we saw lots of different wildlife, we will be coming again.


30th July 2016  Williams family, Salisbury, Wiltshire

Our first trip to Scotland, it's been awesome. The cottage is so spacious and comfortable and we have been full on exploring Mull. Staffa and Fingal's Cave were incredible and we saw quite a few puffins up close. We have had brilliant weather and had lots of walks. Loch Ba was beautiful. We sat on Calgary Beach in the blazing sun. Aros Park was lovely for an evening walk. Tobermory Distillery tour was very interesting. Also did some lovely forest walks. So much wildlife to see. Wish now we had booked for two weeks. Really do not want to leave.


23rd July 2016       Stewart & Isobel Nicol

We have had a very relaxing and enjoyable week staying in this spacious and very tastefully furnished house which is particularly well equipped. We had an amazing trip to the Treshnish Isles & Staffa on Staffa Tours - highly recommended. Visiting Iona was another highly memorable experience. Many thanks for this lovely house



9th July 2016        Margaret and David, Burnley, Lancs

Had a fantastic week. Only one day of full rain so we didn't do too bad. Lovely Island, very friendly. The cottage is one of the best we have stayed in - excellent. Will be back again as we still have a lot to see.



2nd July 2016       Karen & Jacqui, Devon

Despite the terrible weather we've had a great time (that's the luck of the draw when you holiday in the UK). Cottage is lovely, really spacious and well equipped and the log fire was greatly appreciated after one particularly soggy boat trip! Mull is beautiful and we hope to return one day. Many thanks.



28th May 2016      David & Joan Goddard

We enjoyed our stay in this comfortable and spacious cottage. We can recommend eating at the Hebridean Lodge next door. We liked shopping at the Co-Operative! The books and other items on sale at Tackle and Books, Main Street were a surprise. We had good weather all week so plenty of walks and a lovely boat trip courtesy of Staffa Tours. Don't forget to go to the Ironmongers (Browns)! Mull Eagle Watch was fantastic - also lovely walks at Treshnish and locally along the coast to Aros Park. And now... after Crofters Cottage...we have to downsize and go home!



16th April 2016      Tomlinson family, Blackburn, Lancs

So lucky with the weather. Amazing trip to Staffa and Iona. Our 5 year old loved it. Saw the puffins and seals. Calgary Beach stunning. Great walks, Alasdair loved Aros Park. Fantastic high spec cottage - loved it.



4th Jan 2016        Martin & Melanie

After a long journey from North Devon and one ferry cancellation, we arrived. Wow! What a stunning cottage. Clean, tidy, modern, well equipped and very warm. We have had an amazing honeymoon here on Mull. The people here in Tobermory are very welcoming. The Evangelical church service on a Sunday morning is great and the people are lovely. We are sad to be leaving today so maybe this calls for another visit sometime in the future.  



17th Oct 2015     Kennedy family

Swimming in the sea at Calgary Bay (it was cold but that doesn't put a 4 year old off!!). Climbing the rock pools at Glengorm Castle and Bay. Searching for the Balamory houses  which we found! Fair to say we've had a lovely fun-packed holiday - we will be back - see you soon.



June 2015         Sue and Dick Dodd, Fotherby, Lincolnshire

This is our 11th year on Mull and we have had another wonderful holiday. Met up with local friends and met some new ones. Crofters Cottage is beautiful, comfortable and relaxing. I am always sad to leave  the Island, but then look forward to returning again! We have seen an otter in Tobermory harbour, sea eagles and Golden eagles at Loch Na Keal and Calgary Bay. To top off a great holiday the weather has been kind to us, especially the second week. See you next year!!



5th June 2015     Peggy Harris, Ottawa, Canada

I knew when we planned this trip to Mull it would be great but now it has turned out to be exceptional. Thanks for such a lovely 'home' to come back to after days of walking, bird-watching and touring the outer islands. I'll be back!



29th May 2015    Chris Hatton

The cottage is lovely, very warm and welcoming and in an excellent location for seeing so much of Mull and the surrounding islands. Mull is definitely one of the most beautiful places I have ever been to and the people add to its beauty. Thank you for making our stay so comfortable. We will hopefully come back again soon.



7th May 2015    Hollman family, Dunfermline, Fife

We have had an amazing time here - even the weather has been kind to us! Thanks for providing such a comfortable and cosy 'home from home' from which to explore this wonderful area. We hope to come back soon!



2nd May 2015     John, Sheila and Jos, Edinburgh/Cornwall

A beautifully presented cottage in an incredible location. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. With every good wish for the coming season(s)


24th Jan 2015     Janet & Keith, Cumbria

A great week in which to climb Ben More (our last Munro!) in snow and hail with crampons. A fitting end to our 5 years of enjoying the Munro's all over Scotland. Also to celebrate a special birthday on the summit! Thank you for providing a comfortable, well equipped cottage with great wood burner.


July 14 Claire and SJ, Worcestershire

Beautiful island, fantastic landscape, well situated cottage. Photography workshop with Dr Sam Jones and Tony Maclean well worth the money.  Lunga island to visit the puffins is a fantastic experience. Plenty of good restaurants with local produce. Wildlife on this island is wonderful. Lucky to have good weather and some wonderful sunsets witnessed.   Cottage is cosy and well decorated would definitely recommend. Thank you.


5th - 12th July 2014     Lindsey Phil and Eilidh, Edinburgh

Thank you Hylda and John for another wonderful week on Mull that again passed  far too quickly. We loved the new house. Managed to fit in Glengorm and Ulva this year which we missed last year and a different boat trip. Its lovely re visiting old haunts as well as discovering new places.  Our only regret is that we didn't visit Iona this time and that we could get Eilidh out of the sea at Calgary. We will just have to come for longer next time, off to explore Skye now !!    Thanks again and hope to see you in the not to distant future.


14th - 21st June 2014     Vicky and Betty Adlard

We have enjoyed another lovely week on Mull. The weather has been perfect for us and we have spent more time outdoors. Many thanks to Hylda and John for maintaining the high standard of the cottages and we hope to return again.


31st May - 14 June 2014     Jenny and Alan Jackson, Hampshire

3rd visit to Mull staying in John and Hyldas new cottages.  Usually stay in Gamekeepers. I have to say you have excelled in everything, it is very comfortable, whilst we like Gamekeepers, Crofters is better !!
Weather has been kind had a couple of rainy starts but the sun soon came out.  Lots of walking, Ulva, Loch Ba, Calgary, Aros, Mishnish.
Trips out with Davis Woodhouse, Mull wildlife expeditions who excelled himself to give us lots of species sightings and knowledge, trips out with Sealife surveys, dolphins this year a firts, porpoise, minke whale, eagles etc, brilliant weather.
Trips with Martin Keivers Mull Charters to see the sea eagle fishing  was special, no camera required could not compete with the huge lens so did not bother - awesome.  Eaten lots of local food, cheese, fish pork. Looking forward  to another return.


3rd - 10th May 2014      John and Jennie Gavin, Winchester

Another lovely week staying on Mull our first in Tobermory. Walks around Ulva, Iona, Loch Frisa all brought sightings of wonderful birds, deer and seals. Favourite sightings this years were great northern and red throated divers and crossbills. A trip over for a special meal at Lochaline Whitehouse restaurant for lunch was to be recommended although a long drive to Ninth Wave at Fionnphort  lives up to the reputation, our second visit there.  Booking essential both there and down the road at Cafe Fish.  Crofters cottage has been a beautiful base, every comfort and the best equipped kitchen we have experienced.  Thank John and Hylda making us so welcome and  comfortable during our stay.






Virginia3960     Foster, Australia              Fabulous cottage


Crofters Cottage is the perfect place to stay on Isle of Mull. Well located - can walk into the centre of Tobermory 10 mins (although it is15 mins back up the hill but don't blame the cottage) - dear little cottage with 2 beds, 2 bathrooms and everything you could possibly need for a week's stay - kitchen is beautifully appointed in oak and has full stove, microwave, fridge, freezer, dishwasher, washer/dryer, slow cooker, grillers, TV (plus TV's in the bedroom too) - a gorgeous little spot with outdoor furniture by the front door for a glass of wine in the afternoon. Only one other cottage nearby but great privacy. The final tick really comfortable beds and a great welcome from John and Hilda including a bottle of wine and biscuits. Oh also - a GOOD supply of toilet paper, dishwasher tablets, soap etc - so nice.
Sunshine_720  Spacious and well renovated property

We stayed with 2 kids ( 11 & 9 years old) & loved it! We really appreciated the log burning fire, spacious layout, comfortable & firm beds & beautiful clean, cotton sheets. We found the cottage had everything we needed - as well as the wine & biscuits too! It was was a great location - quiet but easy to get to Tobermory. We hope & look forward to a return visit soon. Mull was fantastic & we really enjoyed coming back to the cottage after a busy day out. I rarely write reviews but this deserved a mention. Thank you.